002. Questions

Bryson sat in the uncomfortable chair which seemed ergonomically designed to fuck up your back in the short time you were its prisoner. The man he had come to see smiled a mirthless serpent smile – yes, this was staged. No one wanted to answer questions.

‘Perceval, is it?’

‘You may call me Mr Adjunct.’

‘Real name?’

‘It matters? You’re wasting time. Ask your questions and we can get this unpleasant business over and done with.’

‘Oh, wasn’t explained to you, Mr Adjunct, that my remit allows me to come and go as I please as far as old and new members of the service are concerned.’

‘No – that inconvenient fact was not shared with me. Regardless – ask what you came to ask, and leave.’

‘Partridge – you worked with him. I haven’t been given exact data on the capacity you were employed, but I believe you were a pay-grade above, so I am assuming you were his senior. What I need to know is whether you noticed him having any close ties, or affiliations, however you wish to phrase it, to one department or the other.’

‘And what would have been the use of that? Personal relations were not encouraged, and were in fact closely monitored.’

‘Yes, so no office romances ever took place under the noses of those who considered themselves super-observant.’

‘Of course. I see you fancy yourself a comedian, Mr Bryson, and while you may not have anything more important to do, my time is considerably more valuable.’

‘Oh, I understand. Let me get to the point then, Mr Adjunct. Please provide me with any relevant data you have while I am here asking nicely, and while this whole affair is as low key as it is, or you, and anyone else who proves to be uncooperative will be considered by those who have to make the proverbial omelettes will see you as an egg to break.’

‘Try The Story Room – it’s still a hang out for the people of both those departments, I believe.’

‘Thank you, Mr Adjunct – your help is most appreciated. If you should happen to recollect anything else that might prove useful in the pursuit of our investigation here is my card; please, don’t hesitate to contact me.’

Adjunct smiled, arose imperiously from the seat opposite Bryson, who was strangely more comfortable than he had expected to be, and strode from the room. Hopefully not all of these toffee-nosed bastards would have their heads so firmly inserted into their rectums.

Leave a comment